Current Symposia

The following is a list of confirmed symposia. Detailed descriptions of the symposia and contacts are in the links.  (Updated 10/5/2022)

  1. Ductile Fracture Under Complex Loading (Organizers: David Wilkinson (email: wilkinso@mcmaster.ca), Thomas Pardoen, and Amine Benzerga)
  2. JoDean Morrow and Paul Paris Symposium on Fatigue and Fracture (Organizers: Huseyin Sehitoglu (email: huseyin@uiuc.edu), Petros Sofronis, and John Landes),
  3. Fracto-Emissions in Structural and Seismic Monitoring (Organizers: Alberto Carpinteri (email: alberto.carpinteri@polito.it) and Giuseppe Lacidogna (email: giuseppe.lacidogna@polito.it))
  4. Brittle Fracture: A Century of Progress after Griffith’s Theory (Organizers: Claudio Ruggieri (email: claudio.ruggieri@usp.br) and Laszlo Toth)
  5. Hydrogen Embrittlement and Environmentally Assisted Cracking (Organizers: Jesus Toribio (email: toribio@usal.es), Chris San Marchi, and Joseph Ronevich),
  6. Microstructures and Fracture in Advanced Materials (Organizers: Tong-Yi Zhang (email: zhangty@shu.edu.cn), Chad Landis, Weiqiu Chen, Ralf Müller, and Jie Wang)
  7. Fracture in Large Scale Metallic Infrastructure: Advances, Challenges, and Opportunities (Organizers: Amit Kanvinde (email: kanvinde@ucdavis.edu)  and Xudong Qian)
  8. Beyond Similitude: Role of Multiscale Heterogeneity in Fracture Prognosis (Organizers: Ashley Spear (email: ashley.spear@utah.edu) and Gustavo Castelluccio)
  9. Fatigue and Fracture of AM Materials (Organizers: Bo Chen (email: bo.chen@leicester.ac.uk), Nagaraja Iyer, and Filippo Berto)
  10. Small Scale Specimen Testing (Organizers: Vikram Jayaram (email: qjayaram@iisc.ac.in), V. Raghuprakash, N Jaya Balila, Robert Lancaster, Bernd Gludovatz, and Dan Gianola)
  11. Finite Fracture Mechanics: Theoretical Aspects, Numerical Procedures and Experimental Applications (Organizers: Vladislav Mantič (email: mantic@us.es), Pietro Cornetti, Dominique Leguillon and Pedro Camanho)
  12. Phase-Field Models of Fracture (Organizers: Blaise Bourdin (email: bourdin@mcmaster.ca), Corrado Maurini, Marco Paggi, José Reinoso)
  13. Failure Mechanisms in Advanced Materials and Structures (Organizers: Zengtao Chen (email: Zengtao@ualberta.ca), Minghao Zhao, Cunfa Gao, and Stathis E. Theotokoglou)
  14. Probabilistic Aspects of Fatigue Crack Growth and Fracture:  Frameworks, Tools, and Applications (Organizers: R. Craig McClung (email: craig.mcclung@swri.org), James C. Sobotka, and Kai Kadau)
  15. Advanced Computational Methods for Fracture (Organizers: P.R. Budarapu (email: pattabhi@iitbbs.ac.in), M.K. Pandit, A.K. Pradhan, S. Natarajan, T. Rabczuk)
  16. Residual Stress in Fatigue and Fracture (Organizers: Thomas J. Spradlin (email: thomas.spradlin.1@us.af.mil), Michael R. Hill and Dale L. Ball)
  17. Damage, Fracture, and Fatigue of Composites (Organizer: Raj Das (email: raj.das@rmit.edu.au)
  18. Mechanical Behavior of Nuclear Materials (Organizers: Dong Liu (email: Dong.Liu@bristol.ac.uk), Filippo Berto, and Robert O. Ritchie)
  19. Failure Analysis and Prevention (Donato Firrao (email: donato.firrao@formerfaculty.polito.it),  Erik Mueller, Pierre Dupont)
  20. Materials Data of Assessment of Components Operating in Extreme Environments (Organizers: Jonathan Parker (email: parker@epri.com), John Siefert, and Mike Gagliano)
  21. Fracture in Polymer-Based Materials: Structure-Property Relationships (Organizers: Francesco Baldi (email: francesco.baldi@unibs.it), Alicia Salazar, Luca Andena)